Celebrate the Harvest Moon!

 

When the Harvest Moon rises, go outside. You may notice a few puzzling things.

FULL STORY at
Full Moons
Farmers Almanac dates and times of the full moons 2006-2007
Full Moon names and meanings:
Space Watch Full Moon Names for 2006
Here are some ways to celebrate:
When the Harvest Moon rises in the sky, grab a lawn chair and wonder at the wonder of His creations!  Eat some Moon Food (cheese) and sip a cup of Chinese Tea!  Order Chinese Take-Out for dinner.  Finish it all off with a Moon Pie and an RC Cola!
Proverbs 10:5
He that gathereth in summer [is] a wise son: [but] he that sleepeth in harvest [is] a son that causeth shame.
Proverbs 20:4
The sluggard will not plow by reason of the cold; [therefore] shall he beg in harvest, and [have] nothing.
Matthew 9:38
Pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he will send forth labourers into his harvest.
Background Info/Links/legends
SCIENCE ACTIVITIES
Moon Phases
MATH
fall worksheets
Harvest math -preschool
Harvest pattern worksheet
Article – math learning
MUSIC
songs
Aikendrum
Sung to the tune of “Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush”
Or listen to the tune on Raffi’s Singable Songs for the Very Young Cassette/CD
There was a man lived in the moon
In the moon, in the moon
There was a man lived in the moon
And his name was Aikendrum. 

And he played upon a ladle
A ladle, a ladle
He played upon a ladle
And his name was Aikendrum. 

And his hat was made of cream cheese…
And his coat was made of roast beef…
And his pants were made of haggis…
There was a man lived in the moon… 

HE’S STILL WORKING ON ME

By: Joel Hemphill


Listen to the Tune CHORUS: 

He’s still working on me to make me what I ought to be.
It took Him just a week to make the moon and stars,
The sun and the earth and Jupiter and Mars.
How loving and patient He must be, He’s still working on me. 

1. There really ought to be a sign upon the heart,
Don’t judge her yet, there’s an unfinished part.
But I’ll be perfect just according to His plan
Fashioned by the Master’s loving hands. 

CHORUS:
2. In the mirror of His Word reflections that I see
Make me wonder why He never gave up on me.
He loves me as I am and helps me when I pray
Remember He’s the Potter, I’m the clay. 

CHORUS:

Hymns
Little Is Much When God Is in It
We have here only five loaves of bread and two fish.” Matthew 14:17
In the harvest field now ripened
There’s a work for all to do;
Hark! the voice of God is calling
To the harvest calling you.
Refrain
Little is much when God is in it!
Labor not for wealth or fame.
There’s a crown – and you can win it,
If you go in Jesus’ Name.
Does the place you’re called to labor
Seem too small and little known?
It is great if God is in it,
And He’ll not forget His own.
Refrain
Are you laid aside from service,
Body worn from toil and care?
You can still be in the battle,
In the sacred place of prayer.
Refrain
When the conflict here is ended
And our race on earth is run,
He will say, if we are faithful,
“Welcome home, My child – well done!”
Refrain
LANGUAGE ARTS 

poetry 

I See the Moon 

I see the moon,
And the moon sees me.
God bless the moon,
And God bless me.
Also:
 

I see the moon, the moon sees me
The moon sees somebody I want to see
God bless the moon and God bless me
And God bless the somebody I want to see. 

It seems to me that God above
Created you for me to love
He picked you out from all the rest
To be the one that I loved best.

I had a heart ’twas true and good
But now it’s gone from me to you
Take care of it as I have done
Cause you have two and I have none.

Christian harvest worksheet
Reading Comprehension
36 Autumn Worksheets/Anwser sheets
Write on shapes
Autumn writing ideas.
ARTS and CRAFTS
Moon Dot to Dot
Moon coloring pages
Harvest Moon Coloring Page
Cat and Moon
Printable Paper Lantern Craft
Paper Lantern Craft
Moon Craft and Activities
Harvest Tablet Paper
Celebrate the Harvest Activities/Ideas/ LINKS
Cute Poster
RESOURCES FOR CHRISTIAN TEACHERS
http://www.teacherh elp.org/holidays .htm

Harvest Festivals Around the World
http://www.familyculture.com/holidays/harvestcelebrations.htm

 

________________________________________________________________________

*DISCLAIMER:
Ads below are placed on my blog without my consent.

________________________________________________________________________

This entry was posted in Holidays & Special Days. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

