The Skinny on Oprah

In 2005 Oprah Winfrey was a lean and fit 160 pounds.

In the January 2009 issue of Oprah’s O Magazine she reveals that she is back on the fat track, weighing in at 200 lbs.  But keep in mind that she is also 5’6.  Don’t you have to "weigh in" (ha) all the data to get the whole picture?  I get so tired of seeing the weight of famous people being posted without other relative information.  A fit athlete who is 5’6 can weigh a lot more and still be healthy than a not so fit person who is 5′ and has no lean muscle mass.

So Oprah’s fat again.  So what?  This yo-yo dieting of hers has been going on for 20 years.  Why does America even care? 

Because she represents us, people in America who are in that same battle of lose, regain, lose, regain…

That, and she has a huge following and people are going to watch because they have nothing better to do.

In her magazine she laments, I can’t believe that after all these years, all the things I know how to do, I’m still talking about my weight. I look at my thinner self and think, "How did I let this happen again?"

Seriously, I’ve asked myself that same question – and I’ve never looked as good as she did in 2005!

She answers her own question with three little words:

It happened slowly.

Let this serve as a cautionary tale for all of us this diet season.  I repeat, it happens slowly.  We can work and starve ourselves for months (remember the size 10 jeans Oprah wore in 1988 after her liquid diet) and then end up right back, or worse, than where we started.   But not if we monitor ourselves and take action at that first 2 pound weight gain.

Oprah declares, "Part of getting back on track is you have to accept where you are right now in order to move forward."

Let’s hope she does because America is watching.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

