Pinto Bean Soup Recipe

Pinto Bean Soup?  In August?  In Texas?  In triple digit heat? 

Hey, they’re cheap, and low on the glycemic index!  So, yes, today I bring you my favorite  pinto bean soup recipe!

What You’ll Need:

8 quart stock pot and lid
colender
1 pound (2 cups) dry pinto beans
4c chicken broth
(the big box : )
fresh cilantro
1/2 can of rotel
(save the other 1/2 and dump it into your cornbread mix – follow the recipe on the back of the cornmeal bag.)

I normally do a “hot-soak” because, according to the folks at http://lancaster.unl.edu/factsheets/235.htm ,“Recent nutritional research has demonstrated the benefits of hot-soaking dry beans prior to cooking. During hot soaking, many of the indigestible sugars, a cause of flatulence (gas) are dissolved in the soak water. Draining off the soak water gets rid of these dissolved sugars and does not result in a significant loss of nutrients.”

I buy the 1 pound bag and open the bag and dump it all into a plastic yellow colander where I rinse and sort the beans, carefully removing anything that looks questionable, like rocks or ugly bad beans.   

Then I dump the rinsed and sorted beans into an 8 quart stock pot where I add 10 cups of hot water.  I put it on the stove and heat to boiling for 2 or 3 minutes, turn the fire off, and put a lid on it and let it set for 1 to 4 hours.  The longer soaking is supposed to release more gas – better them than us I say! – and therefore are easier to digest. 

Note: It’s very important to discard the soak water after.  Next, I drain the beans in the aforementioned colander, I pour them back into the stock pot, cover them with a box of MSG-Free Chicken broth and enough water so the water level is about an inch (some recipes say 3 inches) above the beans. 

I add a pound of kielbasa sausage (or other sausage, bacon, ham…) and just boil gently (simmer with lid tilted) about 2 hours – or until the beans are tender.   Sometimes older beans take longer to cook (why you aren’t supposed to mix bags of new with old beans).

When they are done cooking, I add 1/2 can of rotel, lots of fresh cilantro, and a dash of garlic.

The next day I like to made refried beans – strain the beans (but save the broth) and add them to a skillet and mash them with a potato masher and add some taco seasoning to them and some of the cooking broth to keep them from being too dry) then put a heap on a heated tortilla, top with shredded chesse, sour cream, and salsa! 

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinto Bean Soup Recipe

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am going to try this recipe this week, it sounds so good. I had to laugh at cooking soup in triple digit temps. I love soup and could eat it everyday but up here in Minnesota once it hits 80 degrees we think it is hot and by the time it hits 90 we think we have decended into the temps of hell. Most resturants don't even offer soup on the menu in the summer because of the heat. I am going to think of you next time I want soup in the summer!

  2. TraceySkeen says:

    LOL. My husband looks at me like I'm nuts if I cook a "winter" meal in the summer but it seems like summer never ends here and I miss those good wintertime comfort foods!

Leave a Reply

